Ádám Balogh, Piano, Hungary &  Ádám Banda, Violin, Hungary

Ádám Balogh, Piano, Hungary & Ádám Banda, Violin, Hungary

As to their artistic characters, Ádám Banda and Ádám Balogh are closely related: they are both sensitive, inspired musicians devoting themselves completely and utterly to music. Their playing is sophisticated, elegant, yet powerful and captivating. Such a partnership is rare, especially between the representatives of two different generations. The audience can anticipate a unique harmony while enjoying some emblematic melodies of the violin-piano repertoire. The programme’s core consists of some pivotal masterpieces of the first half of the 20th century, a period particularly rich in various styles: Bartók’s Rhapsody, an excerpt from Der Rosenkavalier and a transcription of Stravinsky’s Firebird. In the meantime, we can look back on their immediate predecessors, Brahms and Chopin’s Romanticism. We’ll evoke Chopin with the rarely heard transcript of a Nocturne written by Nathan Milstein in 1935. Also, we can take a brief glimpse at the cornerstone of music, Bach’s oeuvre, through the great German master chorale transcription. Finally, you can relish the Devil’s Trill Sonata, a genuine pillar in the violin repertoire.

The concert is part of the Cziffra100 event series, takes place in the joint organisation of Chopin PianoFest Pristhina and the Cziffra Festival Budapest.
The 100th anniversary of the birth of the world-famous Hungarian pianist György Cziffra is officially celebrated in Hungary as part of a Memorial Year, and has also been included by UNESCO in the list of anniversaries. The programmes of Cziffra100 are organised under the artistic leadership of pianist János Balázs, in a unique professional partnership with a number of institutions, orchestras and partners in Hungary as well as in the most significant cities of the music world. The Cziffra Memorial Year is supported by the Prime Minister’s Office, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade, with the help of the Bethlen Gábor Alapkezelő Zrt.


B. Bartók: Rhapsody No.1 for Violin and Piano, Sz. 86, BB 94
J. Brahms: Violin Sonata No.1 in G major, Op.78
Vivace ma non troppo
Adagio – Più andante – Adagio
Allegro molto moderato
R.Strauss-Grainger: Ramble on Love from Der Rosenkavalier
J.S. Bach-F. Busoni: Ich ruf zu dir, Herr Jesu Christ, BWV 639
I. Stravinsky-Agosti: The Firebird
F. Chopin-Milstein: Nocturne in C-sharp minor, Op. posth
Larghetto ma non troppo
Allegro moderato
Allegro assai
Project details